About the Sculptor
Curriculum vitae
Participation in symposia
List of works in museums
List of works in private collections
Monumental works
Publications, TV, Radio
Autobiographyin the Spirit of
The Artist and the Art
Creative compendium
Supplement 2001
Supplement 2005
On Monument to F.M. Dostoyevsky
On monument to nurse
 
Self - Portrait. 1976. Bronze, height 50 cm
 
Venus of Louvre 2. 1993. Paper, crayon, size 59x38 cm
 
Portrait Lyuba. 1989. Bronze, granite, natural size, 1

The Artist and the Art

The sacramental diction to the effect that life places the man according to his place was uttered by Petr Pavlovich Vvedenskiy in 1954 when he, having interrupted his explanation, noiselessly walked to stand behind me and watched me drawing for some time. The words surfaced in my memory much later, when I had been graduated from my art institute and was occupying in society my social place, as a sculpturing artist. The fulfillment of the prophesy seemed sufficient to me during some time. I realized that my position (place) was an outward expression of the actual place occupied by the artist among all other manifestations of the human creative spirit, those manifestations forming an inviolable metaphysical set the cosmos of culture. But each and every branch of creation is also a cosmos in itself. If we put it in a more precise manner every branch of creation is a microcosmic organism. It has its own intricately ramified organs which are epochs, styles, methods and manners all these performing the necessary functions of the stateliness of the wholesome and permanently growing tree that is following the image of God.

It thus became clear that the place is determined with a greater precision: that is determining to which metaphisical branch, at which level correspond at a certain specific moment-period-life-as-a-whole the creative states of the soul. This is because the destiny of an artist (or anybodys soul for that matter) is also a microcosmic organism. An organism with a logic of its own, representing an intertwining of manifestations of different qualities, realizations that form ascensions and falls. With the high points and descents of their own. We are inclined to think that the place of a creative soul shall be easier determined from the outside. For example, the place of an accomplished destiny. Or at least from a neighboring place. For example, the place of another destiny. Only a genius has the true premonition of his destiny-mission. The premonition of the inevitability of accomplishment.

This premonition appears also at the moment when a work is being created. With me it is a feeling of purification, a feeling of transition into the world of free development of shape and of a mysteriously attracting space. The absolute dimensions of plastic expression are of no significance here. The plot is good to the extent it helps to perform the association with that world. The space quality of existence comes to make the actual content of a piece of sculpture or of a drawing. It is precisely this quality which renders true depth to the subject and determines the place of the artist both in the creative and spiritual hierarchies. For the profundity of the image is unattainable without penetration into the liberating and curing world of the form, unattainable without the feeling of the transcending character of space in composition and its details. Whence the connection between the ethical and the esthetical.

I turned to different stylistic peculiarities of form at various periods of my creative career. I sometimes turned to several such form peculiarities during one and the same period of time. This row is not very wide, it is rather too well known: Leonard and Michelangelo, the ancient classical and the archaic works, the ontological mysticism of form in the art of Ancient Egypt, H. Moor and figurative expressionism, canon in old Russian Art, the archetypical symbolism in the anthropological and Christian themes (the definition of the most autocephalous part of creative activity), the realistic art of the 19-th century, the impressionism of Meunier, Rodin and Trubetskoy, the academic and studious work with the model. An ordinary particular reflection in an individual biography-drop of the ocean of the world art. I started at studies as stylization, at becoming associated with the respective culture, at making discoveries of its appropriations and its limitations. But I returned every time to my own inner feeling of form and space. I was looking everywhere for traits of one and the same state of the image that was close to me, and I was watching it awakening in the gallery of the world art of all times and all peoples.

Step by step, there began to be drawn a comparative picture of stylistic imaging possibilities which may include only respective ethical content. The connection between various phenomena of art, and between phenomena of culture as a whole, is anthropomorphous. In the best of its part this connection arranges itself according to the Incarnated Likeness which is the Christian reading of the antique expression man is the measure of all things. Man, as a phenomenon and as an idea, contains a certain row of symbols, which symbols come to be crowned by the symbolic significance of the brow and the eyes the omphalos of the spiritual image. Every one fact of art corresponds by its sources to fleshly specifity, to a form of sensualism, and it has its own specific spiritual range of content. This is equally true whether we are dealing with a whole epoch, or some particular trend, a creative destiny or a part thereof, or, at last, it may be a particular work of art or even merely an artistic vehicle.

In the first place, it has become clear that the realistic portrait cannot attain those spiritual heights and depths, it cannot express the serene sorrow and the wisdom which we discover for ourselves in the best paragons of the fronts in the Old Russian icon and fresco. These elevated states of mind are impossible to be watched in life in that state that is so refined. Those have been taken out of inward contemplation and rendered with the help of the profoundly experienced canonical purification-communion of the form. The best paragons of the icon, the fresco and the embroidery of the 12th - 17th centuries are seen by me as the highest content, the one that is accessible in art as the extreme, beyond which there is no more. This content is expressed by the state of the contemplation of the Sense of Life which state is only attainable during the short-lived lofty moments of holiness, and which as if transcends the physical limits of the body, the space where the thought and the feeling are spiritualized. This content has, however, its bodily symbol the eyes. And the sensual symbol, which is the eyesight. Form, once understood as flesh, dooms the viewer to attention to life in its emotional-sensual, mental existence. But just the same, this is something that stands the closest to icon. The realistic portrait bears the witness to the limitless value of the individual content of the individual in His image and after His likeness. Face is the symbol of the portrait art in all the richness of the genres. The antiquity has incarnated the supreme beauty as the idea of body. The body is the symbol of the art of space and plastic-sculpture. Its sensual symbol is found in the sense of touch (which is felt as a lofty experience). The ideas of life, deified at the genetic level, is symbolized as something supreme through the art of phallic cults and depictions.

The system of culture symbols may be very flexible and even individual. But it is always hierarchically anthropomorphous. The content of a piece of art depends on the theme, the subject depicted and the views of the artist. Not entirely though. The real interaction of the artist with the world is manifested in his attitude towards the form and the facture of the material, in his sense of color and sense of rhythm, space and sounding of the masses, in the specific touch and in the tempo of his work. In reverence and in violence. Both in the artists technique and in his life. This alloy is quite characteristic and tell us that the particular piece of art belongs to one culture or another, and it speaks also about the piece of art belonging to a particular artist. For example, the instability of the emotional perception is a value that is gifted by the impressionist form. (Which form may itself be symbol of various movements of the soul. The symbol and the symbolized are mutually convertible, they may be put one in the place of the other). When the artistic language is experienced at the symbolic level, the spirit of the work becomes revealed. The symbolic content of a number of works of art creates the dynamics of the creative biography which finds its place in the anthropomorphous hierarchy of the values of culture.

Valery Yevdokimov. 1995. Moscow.
Magic Mountain. Magazine III, 1995

Об авторе
Curriculum vitae
Участие в симпозиумах
Список работ в музеях
Список работ
в частных коллекциях
Монументальные работы
Публикации, телевидение, радио
Автобиография в духе
Художник и искусство
Творческий компендиум
Дополнение 2001 г.
Дополнение 2005 г
О памятнике
Ф.М.Достоевскому
О памятнике
медицинской сестре
 
Автопортрет. 1976.
Бронза, высота 50 см
 
Венера из Лувра 2. 1993.
Бумага, цветной карандаш
 
Портрет «Люба». 1989. Бронза, гранит, 1 нат. вел
Художник и искусство
Сакраментальная фраза «жизнь ставит человека на свое место» произнесена Петром Павловичем Введенским в 1954 году, когда он, прервав объяснение, тихо остановился сзади и некоторое время наблюдал за тем, как я рисую. Эти слова всплыли в памяти много позже, когда был уже закончен художественный институт, и я занял в обществе социальное место художника-скульптора. Какое-то время такое исполнение пророчества мне казалось достаточным. Я понимал, что это лишь внешнее выражение настоящего места художника среди других проявлений творческого духа человека, образующих незыблемый метафизический набор - космос культуры. Но каждая ветвь творчества это тоже космос. Точнее - микрокосм- организм. Со сложно разветвленными органами - эпохами, стилями, методами, манерами, выполняющими необходимые функции в стройности целого, постоянно растущего древа, следующего образу Божию.

И стало ясно, что место определяется точнее: какой метафизической ветке, на каком уровне соответствуют в тот или иной момент-период-жизнь-в-целом творческие состояния души. Так как судьба художника (и вообще судьба) -также организм-микрокосм. Со своей логикой - сплетением разнокачественных проявлений - реализации, образующих взлеты и падения. Со своим апогеем и нисхождением. Мы склонны думать, что место творческой судьбы легче определяется извне. Например, судьбы завершенной. Или, по крайней мере, со стороны. Например, другой судьбы. Лишь гениальность обладает верным предчувствием своей судьбы - миссии. Предчувствием неизбежности свершения.

Это предчувствие возникает также в момент создания работы. У меня это ощущение очищения, перехода в мир свободного развития формы и таинственно влекущего пространства. Здесь не имеют значения абсолютные размеры пластики. А сюжет хорош постольку, поскольку помогает совершить приобщение к этому миру. Пространственная качественность бытия становится настоящим содержанием скульптуры или рисунка. Она-то и придает настоящую глубину теме и определяет место художника и в творческой и в духовной иерархии. Ибо глубина образа недостижима без проникновения в освобождающий, целительный мир формы, без ощущения трансцендентности пространства в композиции и ее подробностях. Отсюда - связь этического и эстетического.

В разные периоды своей творческой работы я обращался к разным стилевым особенностям формы. А иногда в один и тот же период к нескольким. Этот ряд не так широк, скорее банален: Леонардо и Микеланджело, античная классика и архаика, онтологическая мистика формы в искусстве древнего Египта, Г. Мур и фигуративный экспрессионизм, канон в древнерусском искусстве, архетипический символизм в антропологической и христианской тематике (дефиниция наиболее самостоятельной части творчества), реализм 19-го века, импрессионизм Менье, Родена и Трубецкого, академическая, штудийная работа с моделью. Обычное частное отражение в индивидуальной капле- биографии океана мирового искусства. Я начинал с изучения-стилизации, с приобщения к соответствующей культуре, с открытия ее обретений и пределов. И каждый раз возвращался к своему внутреннему чувству формы и пространства. Я везде искал черты одного и того же, близкого себе состояния образа и следил за его пробуждением в галерее мирового искусства всех времен и народов.

Постепенно стала вырисовываться сравнительная картина стилевых изобразительных возможностей, которые могут вмещать в себя только соответствующее этическое содержание. Связь явлений искусства и вообще культуры - антропоморфна. А в лучшей своей части выстраивается по Воплощенному Подобию - христианское прочтение античного выражения «человек есть мера всех вещей». Человек, как явление и идея, содержит в себе известный ряд символов, которые увенчиваются символическим значением чела и глаз - средоточием духовного образа. Каждый факт искусства по своим истокам соответствует телесной конкретности, форме чувственности и имеет свой духовный диапазон содержания. В равной степени, касается ли это целой эпохи, какого-либо течения, творческой судьбы или ее части, наконец, отдельного произведения или даже просто художественного приема.

Во-первых, стало понятно, что реалистический портрет не может достигнуть тех высот и глубин духа, так выразить светлую печаль и мудрость, которые мы открываем для себя в лучших образцах ликов древнерусской иконы и фрески. Эти высокие состояния невозможно наблюдать в столь очищенном виде в жизни. Они взяты из внутреннего созерцания и переданы при помощи глубоко пережитого канонического очищения-причащения формы. О лучших образах иконы, фрески и шитья 12-17 веков я говорю как о высшем, предельно доступном для искусства содержании. Оно выражено состоянием созерцания Смысла жизни, которое достижимо в недолгие высокие мгновенья святости и как бы выходит за физические границы тела, пространства одухотворения мысли и чувства. Однако это содержание имеет телесный символ - глаза. И символ чувственный - зрение. Форма, понятая как плоть, обрекает на внимание к жизни в ее эмоционально-чувственном, умственном бытии. И все-таки это то, что стоит к иконе ближе всего. Реалистический портрет свидетельствует о бесконечной ценности индивидуального содержания личности, образа и подобия Божия. Лицо есть символ искусства портрета во всем его богатстве жанров. Античностью высшая красота воплощена как идея тела. Тело является символом искусства пространства и пластики - скульптуры. Осязание (переживаемое возвышенно) - его чувственный символ. Идея жизни, обожествленная на генетическом уровне, символизируется в качестве высшего искусством фаллических культов и изображений.

Система символов культуры может быть очень гибкой и даже индивидуальной. Но она всегда иерархически-антропоморфна. Содержание произведения искусства зависит от темы, предмета изображения и взглядов автора. Но не полностью. Реальное взаимодействие художника с миром проявляется в его отношении к форме и фактуре материала, в чувстве цвета и ритма, пространства и звучания масс, в прикосновении и темпе работы. В благоговении и насилии. Как в технике, так и в жизни. Этот сплав очень характерен и говорит нам о принадлежности произведения к той или иной культуре, об авторстве. Так, например, зыбкость эмоционального восприятия-ценность, даруемая импрессионистической формой. (Которая сама может быть символом различных душевных движений. Символ и символизируемое обратимы, их можно менять местами). В переживании художественного языка на символическом уровне раскрывается дух работы. Символическое содержание ряда произведений творит динамику творческой биографии, которая находит свое место в антропоморфной иерархии ценностей культуры.

Валерий Евдокимов, 1995 г, Москва.
Журнал «Волшебная гора». №3 1995г.