About the Sculptor
Curriculum vitae
Participation in symposia
List of works in museums
List of works in private collections
Monumental works
Publications, TV, Radio
Autobiographyin the Spirit of
The Artist and the Art
Creative compendium
Supplement 2001
Supplement 2005
On Monument to F.M. Dostoyevsky
On monument to nurse
 
Steps. 1978. Bronze, height 137 cm
 
A Family. 1977. Bronze, granite, height 70 cm. State Tretyakov Gallery

Creative Compendium

The immersion into the sensual richness of the plastic of the body and its forms is the revelation of the first steps in art. The turning to modern art is search for archetypical formulae of life («Proposal». 1964, «A Garnet Bracelet», 1965, «Soul and Body», 1974, «Organ», 1974, «An Artist» (self-portrait), 1976, «A Family», 1977, «Birth», 1978).

The coming to find the specific features of one’s own intuition of rhythm and space in the series of compositions on the subject of labor, 1967 – 1987. The discovery of the principle of the gradual transposition of parts of a figure in the wholesome space of the sculptural composition («Welders», 1973, «A Blacksmith», 1975, «Movement», 1977).

The revelation of the composition in the Old Russian art. The attempt to reveal its principles in the three-dimensional space resulted in the discovery of the danger of disappearance of its sacral sense. The first realization of the need for canon – evolvement of the essence. (What does it mean – our aspiration for the purport? -- aspiration for God? -- for perfection and eternal life? Is it merely a lever of the natural selection? It is all these things combined). Experiencing spirituality at the level of the composition cosmos as purified rhythmically and musically.

The symbol of the aesthetically valuable space represents a spiral in its impulsive rhythm (zigzag) expanding upwards as a crater. The aspiring movement upwards as value. But this is not the absolute value of the vertical and the horizontal of the Cross. The plastic of the sculptural body, directed upwards, and moving in its inclined motion which underscores the overcoming, is being screwed into the growing and expanding space of the imagined crater-cosmos. The symbol of the aspiration of temporal and transient for eternal and perfect. The details are subordinate to the motion of the principal plastic mass in the ascending anfractuosity of space – the main aesthetic value of the composition.

This image, to what state of the soul does it mostly bear witness? – It is a soul that is not rooted in the Spirit, a restless soul (MOVEMENT), a soul which is prone to violence towards its own self and towards others (OVERCOMING), feeling a longing for elevated (ASCENDING), in the permanently nervous tension (ANFRACTUOSITY OF SPACE), but it is a soul that is also wholesome and harmonious in its own way (MAIN PLASTIC MASS – THE BODY OF THE SCULPTURE) («John the Baptist», 1977, «Steps», 1978, «Cathedral», 1978, «A Concert of S. Rikhter», 1979, «Therapontovo», 1979, «Opening», 1979, «Ascension», 1980, «Eternal Path», 1980, «In Memoriam of A. Rublev», 1982, «Transfiguration», 1983, «Cosmos», 1985, «Dream», 1986, «Wave-Running», 1994).

There gradually grows the feeling of the need for the presence in the composition as a center of an individualistic beginning from which emanates the crater-space. This center may be located at any point of that space, but the center always creates the space and always dominates in it. For the individualistic beginning needs an ethical and aesthetic harmony before anything else, and it is that harmony’s sine qua non («Memory», 1988, «PIETA», 1990, «Eternal Path», 1995, the memorial plaques to V. A. Favorsky and poet thinker D. L. Andreyev, and the model monument to F. M. Dostoyevsky, 1997). This invoked in me special interest in portrait, which had previously also been a subject of my attention – as personification of the national idea ( A Portrait of B. Tunegov, 1962, A Portrait of Brother, 1963, A Portrait of M. Voskresenskiy, 1967, «Nikon Mikhailovich», 1975, A Portrait of Mother, 1978, A Portrait of A. V. Vedernikov, 1984, A Portrait of D. Ye. Galkovskiy, 1985, «A. S. Pushkin», 1986, «Lyuba», 1987, A Portrait of F. S. Kharitonov, 1987, “D. I. Mendeleyev», 1988, A Portrait of V. Kikin, 1988, A Portrait of V. V. Rozanov, 1990, «Poet S. A. Klychkov», 1993). Overwhelming in the portrait is the ontological front view. The portrait of Rozanov is the only one that is «non-canonical», it is a three-forths view. (But so also is «The Savior» by Andrey Rublev).

The lofty content of the icon-image is becoming ever more clearly enunciated. The spiritual distance between the front and the realistic portrait is the distance between the way of life of an icon-painting monk and that of a secular painter. The mental realization of that distance has supplied me with an understanding of the limits of my own creative work. It helped me to concentrate quietly upon individual’s accessible levels in art – the realistic portrait, the nature study, the drawing. That coincided with the restitution of value to facts of ordinary life. The restitution did not involve, however, any abdication from the former acquisitions and took place in the hope of synthesis. (A series of nature studies, drawings, and portraits in 1985 – 1995, and later).

The model monument to V. S. Solovyov presupposes a symbolization of spiritual vision, which vision fills the personality of the thinker as well as the social idea that is connected with him and with his creative work. The divine light that has found reflection in the doctrines of V. S. Solovyov, and which has put a certain imprint upon his image, is symbolized in the portrait picture which is a kind of a part of the cross and stays in compositional connection with the architectural space of the monument that is opened outwards. The plasticity (=«the transiency, transitory character») is limited with the ontological vertical of the cross.

But what about the place, after all? (Rhetoric is an instrument of learning about oneself). Well, works of visual art have to be seen.

Valery Yevdokimov. 1995. Moscow.
Magic Mountain. Magazine III, 1995

Об авторе
Curriculum vitae
Участие в симпозиумах
Список работ в музеях
Список работ
в частных коллекциях
Монументальные работы
Публикации, телевидение, радио
Автобиография в духе
Художник и искусство
Творческий компендиум
Дополнение 2001 г.
Дополнение 2005 г
О памятнике
Ф.М.Достоевскому
О памятнике
медицинской сестре
 
Ступени. 1978 Бронза, высота 137 см
 
Семья. 1977. Бронза, гранит, высота 70 см. ГТГ
Творческий компендиум

Погружение в чувственное богатство пластики тела и его форм – откровение первых шагов в искусстве. Обращение к современному искусству – поиск архетипических формул жизни («Предложение». 1964 г., «Гранатовый браслет». 1965 г., «Душа и тело». 1974 г., «Орган». 1974 г., «Художник» (автопортрет). 1976 г., «Семья». 1977 г., «Рождение». 1978 г.).

Уяснение особенностей своей интуиции ритма и пространства в серии композиций на темы труда 1967 - 1987 гг. Открытие принципа последовательного перемещения фрагментов фигуры в едином пространстве скульптурной композиции («Сварщики». 1973г., «Кузнец». 1975г., «Движение». 1977).

Откровение композиции в древнерусском искусстве. Попытка раскрытия ее принципов в трехмерном пространстве обнаружила опасность исчезновения ее сакрального смысла. Первое осознание необходимости канона - выявления сути. (Что означает наше стремление к сути? - к Богу? - к совершенству и вечной жизни? Просто рычаг естественного отбора? Все вместе). Переживание духовности на уровне ритмически и музыкально очищенного космоса композиции.

Символ эстетически ценного пространства - спираль в импульсивном ритме (зигзаг) расходящаяся кратером вверх. Устремленность вверх - как ценность. Но это не абсолютная ценность вертикали и горизонтали Креста. Пластика тела скульптуры, устремленного вверх, в наклонном, подчеркивающем преодоление, движении, ввинчивается в растущее и расширяющееся пространство мнимого кратера-космоса. Символ тяги временного и преходящего к вечному и совершенному. Детали подчинены движению основной пластической массы в восходящей кривизне пространства - главной эстетической ценности композиции.

О каком состоянии души по преимуществу свидетельствует этот образ? – Души, не укорененной в Духе, мятущейся (ДВИЖЕНИЕ), склонной к насилию над собой и другими (ПРЕОДОЛЕНИЕ), испытывающей тоску по возвышенному (В ВОСХОДЯЩЕЙ), в постоянном нервном напряжении (КРИВИЗНЕ ПРОСТРАНСТВА), но по своему цельной и гармоничной (ОСНОВНОЙ ПЛАСТИЧЕСКОЙ МАССЫ - ТЕЛА СКУЛЬПТУРЫ) («Иоанн Креститель». 1977 г., «Ступени». 1978 г., «Собор» .1978 г., «Концерт С. Рихтера». 1979г., «Ферапонтово». 1979 г., «Раскрытие». 1979 г., «Вознесение». 1980 г., «Вечный путь». 1980 г., «Памяти А. Рублева». 1982 г., «Преображение». 1983 г., «Космос». 1985 г., «Мечта». 1986 г., «Бегущая по волнам». 1994 г.).

Постепенно усиливается ощущение необходимости присутствия в композиции центра в виде личностного начала, из которого эманирует пространство-кратер. Центр может быть расположен в любой точке этого пространства, но всегда его творит и в нем доминирует. Ведь личностное начало больше всего и нуждается в этической и эстетическое гармонии и есть ее непременное условие («Память». 1988 г., «РIЕТА». 1990 г., «Вечный путь». 1995 г., мемориальные доски художнику В.А.Фаворскому и поэту-мыслителю Д.Л. Андрееву, проект памятника Ф.М. Достоевскому. 1997г.). В связи с этим пробуждение специального интереса к портрету, которым я занимался и раньше - как олицетворением национальной идеи (Портрет Б.Тунегова. 1962 г., Портрет брата. 1963 г., Портрет М.Воскресенского. 1967 г., «Никон Михайлович». 1975 г., Портрет матери. 1978 г., Портрет А.В.Ведерникова.1984 г., Портрет Д.Е.Галковского. 1985 г., «А.С.Пушкин». 1986 г., «Люба». 1987г., Портрет С.Ф.Харитонова. 1987г., «Д.И. Менделеев». 1988 г., Портрет В.Кикина . 1988 г., Портрет В.В. Розанова. 1990 г., «Поэт С.А.Клычков». 1993 г.). В портрете преобладает онтологическая фронтальность. Только портрет В.В.Розанова «не канонический» - развернут в три четверти. (Но и «Спас» А.Рублева –тоже).

Все более внятным становится высокое содержание иконы - образа. Духовная дистанция между ликом и реалистическим портретом - это дистанция между образом жизни монаха-иконописца и светского художника. Осознание этой дистанции дало понимание границ собственного творчества. Помогло спокойно сосредоточиться на доступных уровнях личности в искусстве - реалистическом портрете, натурном этюде, рисунке. Это совпало с возвращением статуса ценности фактам обычной жизни. Однако без отказа от прежних обретений и в надежде на синтез. (Серия натурных этюдов, рисунков, портретов 1985 - 1995 гг. и далее).

Проект памятника В.С. Соловьеву предполагает символизацию духовного зрения, наполняющего личность философа и связанную с ним и его творчеством общественную мысль. Божественный свет, отраженный в учении В.С.Соловьева, и наложивший определенную печать на его облик, символизируется в портретном изображении, которое является как бы частью креста, и находится в композиционной связи с разомкнутым вовне архитектурным пространством памятника. Пластичность (=«преходящность») ограничена онтологической вертикалью креста.

Так как же все-таки с местом? (Риторика - инструмент самопознания). А вообще-то, искусство надо смотреть.

Валерий Евдокимов, 1995 г, Москва.
Журнал «Волшебная гора». №3 1995г.